RGV Visitors Guide

Page 43 Rio Grande Valley Visitors Guide 2026-2027 Stay On The Beach (956) 761-4951 www.padresouth.com reservations@padresouth.com 1500 Gulf Blvd, South Padre Island, TX 78597 • 1-844-GO-PADRE Get 10% Off Mention RGV2027 Some Restrictions Apply PADRE SOUTH HOTEL • Ocean View Balconies • All Rooms with Fully Equipped Kitchen • Two Bedroom and Efficiencies Available • Large Pool Area & Courtyard with Jacuzzi • Laundry Facilities and Cable TV • Group Meeting Area in our Spacious Lobby • Walking distance to the entertainment district • Rocotto Grill right next door Port Isabel Lighthouse To get a great view of the Laguna Madre area, climb to the top of the Point Isabel Lighthouse which was constructed in 1852 to guide ships through the Brazos Santiago Pass and into the Laguna Madre. It is the only lighthouse open to the public on the Texas Gulf coast. Also on the grounds of the Lighthouse is the Keeper’s Cottage Visitor Center. The Port Isabel Lighthouse is a Texas Historical Commission State Historic Site. The Lighthouse is open daily, weather permitting. Closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Day. Admission prices are adults $5, seniors $4, students $3, and $2.50 for Veterans. For more information, visit www. portisabellighthouse.com or call (956) 9430735. Black Dragon Pirate Cruise This popular tourist attraction is located in the Laguna Madre, headquartered at Pirate’s Landing Fishing Pier, at 501 E. Maxan St. in Port Isabel. The two-hour cruise features water gun fights, sword battles, cannon firings, tales of pirates, face painting, area history, and lots of fun for all ages. There are shows held throughout the year. For information or to make reservations, call (956) 943-MATE (6283) or visit the website at http://www.ospreycruises.com/the-black-dragon-pirate-ship. Port Isabel Historical Museum Located in the historic Champion Building on Railroad Ave., the 1899 building was once a dry goods store and residence and later served as a post office and railroad depot. The facade features a fish mural painted in 1906 by a local fisherman. The museum features artifacts from

RkJQdWJsaXNoZXIy MTczOTk5Mg==