Page 12 Rio Grande Valley Visitors Guide 2026-2027 was named “Roma” in 1848 after the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo. Because of its proximity to the river, Roma prospered during the years between the Mexican War and Reconstruction. The Roma National Historic Landmark District represents an outstanding example of the building techniques of the Lower Rio Grande. These techniques, derived from the 18th-century traditions of northern Mexico, are best exemplified by the finely detailed brick commercial and residential buildings designed and constructed by Heinrich Portscheller. Portscheller, a German immigrant, built in both Texas and Mexico and helped influence the distinctive architectural style of the Lower Rio Grande. Within the district, you’ll find the iconic 1928 Roma-Ciudad Miguel Alemán International Bridge, a marvel of engineering now designated as a State Antiquities Landmark. Alongside this bridge, the preserved river wharfs and the venerable old custom house stitch together the rich tapestry of Roma’s history. The district also includes an observation deck overlooking the Rio Grande and Mexico. A series of restored buildings on the plaza serve as a visitor’s center, the Roma Historical Museum, part of the World Birding Center network, and other businesses and local attractions. Our Lady of Lourdes Grotto In the early days of the 20th century, life was especially hard in the Rio Grande City area. Like many frontier towns, crime was rampant and diseases like leprosy and tuberculosis were rampant. The French Oblate Cavalry of Christ, circuit-riding priests, rode into the area to establish churches and give people hope for a better life. One of these priests was Father Gustave Gollenbach, who felt the creation of a grotto like Our Lady of Lourdes grotto in France would provide inspiration to the people. The location is a replica of the original shrine in France where the peasant girl had a vision of Our Lady of Lourdes. Construction was a community effort with help coming from a local Baptist minister. The grotto is located in Rio Grande City behind the Immaculate Conception Catholic Church at 101 E. 3rd St. It is open daily for public view. La Borde House Founded in 1899 and renovated in 1979, La Borde House was first a trading post where Indians and fur trappers brought their wares. It was located in Rio Grande City because it was the head of navigation for the Rio Grande River. Due to the difficult terrain around Rio Grande City, and the fact that traveling by ox cart was the only other method of travel to get to the city, almost all trade was done by shipping wares by steamboat up and down the river. In 1917, the trading post was converted into an elegant hotel. Eventually, the hotel fell into disrepair but a local philanthropist, Larry Sheerin, purchased the hotel and began restoration in 1979. When the restoration was finished, the eight hotel rooms restored were authentic examples of turn-of-the-century elegance furnished with authentic period antiques. The property is now maintained and managed by
RkJQdWJsaXNoZXIy MTczOTk5Mg==