Friday, December 08, 2023
Text Size

It is time again to select Winter Texans’ favorite entertainers for the 2016 Valley Star Awards. This year’s ballot is in this week’s edition of the Winter Texan Times on page 8. Choose to use the ballot in today’s paper and mail it to 1217 N. Conway, Mission TX 78572, or, vote online at Ballots must be received by Feb. 16 to be counted.

Nominees for Male Vocalist of the Year are John Sager, Mario, Bill Chrastil and J.C. Harrisson. Female Vocalist of the Year nominees are Susan Hudson Carman, Leslie Blasing, Ruthi and Maggie Mae.

Family Musical Group nominees are Lindley Creek, CrossStrung, Southern Anthem and Goldwing Express. Non-related Musical Group of the Year nominees include Razz Ma Tazz, Men of A-Chord, Sweet Adelines and Senior Ambassadors.

Nominees chosen for Duet Musical Group are Dave & Daphne, Gordy and Debbie, Wade & Theresa Landry and Diego and Edith. Up for Novelty or Comedy Act of the Year voters can select Castaway, Bernie & Red, Gomer (Gary Crain) & Patsy Show or Johnny Ray Gomez.

Nominees for Gospel Group of the Year include Ambassadors of Grace, Myra Green & Bible Alive, Farnum Family and 4 His Glory.

Individual/Small Band/Variety Act of the Year nominees are Walter Plant, Jason Whorlow, Keys, Strings & Harmony and Party of One.

Don’t forget to fill in the write-in space for electing Entertainer of the Year.

The nominees for the ballot selection were voted on by activity directors at their first meeting of the year. Now it is time for Winter Texans to select their favorites. Cast your ballot to select the winners of this year’s Valley Star Awards, then plan to attend the Valley Star Awards Show where the winners will be presented.

The awards show will be held Saturday, Feb. 20 at 6 p.m. at Mission Bell Resort in Mission. Tickets are $15 each and are on sale now at Mission Bell, 1711 E. Business 83, Mission and at Winter Texan Times, 1217 N. Conway Ave., Mission. To order tickets by phone, call 865-253-2514.

Entertaining between award presentations will be some of the Rio Grande Valley’s top performers, including Leslie Blasing, 4 His Glory, Gordy & Debbie, J.C. Harrisson, Johnny Ray Gomez and Southern Anthem.